History of Perak
As with the other Malay states in the north, Perak was constantly under threat from regional powers. During the 16th century, the Achinese and the Dutch was the main cause of concern due to Perak's monopoly of tin. In the 18th Century, Perak was then threatened by the Bugis and Siamese. Under the Siamese influence, Sultan Kedah was forced to remove the Sultan of Perak to ensure compliance by the Perak state.

These external factors did not help the state due to the internal turmoil regarding the succession to the throne between Raja Ismail, Raja Abdullah and Raja Yusuf in 1870. There was also a situation with the Chinese faction due to the growth of the tin industry. Perak led the immigration of Chinese into Malaya due to her abundance of tin. With the influx of the Chinese, they brought with them the secret sect and triad. Unrest occurred during the 1870 s between Hai San clan and Ghee Hin clan that forced British intervention in protecting Perak's interest.

Evidently, in 1874, a conference was held on Pangkor Island for the signing of the Pangkor Engagement. Under the agreement, Raja Abdullah was elected as the Sultan of Perak. The British also appointed J.W.W Birch as the first British Resident. Unsatisfied with the British forceful influence in Perak, the Malays plotted to assassinate J.W.W. Birch in 1875. After the death of Birch, Sultan Abdullah, Dato Sagar, Ngah Ibrahim and Dato Maharajalela were accussed for his murder and was sentence to death or exile.

Perak became part of the Federated Malay State in 1896 until the Japanese invasion. With the withdrawal of the Japanese forces in 1945, Perak was put under the British Military Administration.

In October 1945, the British laid out the Malayan Union scheme before the British Parliament. Under the scheme, Pulau Pinang, Melaka and nine other Malay states were to be united under the Malayan Union. Sir Harold MacMicheal was then entrusted in obtaining the agreements from the Malay Rulers.

Malays opposition to the British plans to form the Malayan Union catalyst the movement for Independence. Sparked by national sentiments, Dato Onn Jaafar formed United Malays National Organisation (UMNO) on 11 May 1946. The Malay Federation was founded on 1 February 1948 and on 31 August 1957, Malaya achieved Independence.